Although the Department does not have its own UG program, it currently offers one laboratory course and two theory courses to the first year B.Tech. students admitted to the Institute.

  • Physics Laboratory (2 credits)
  • Introduction to Classical Mechanics (3 credits)
  • Introduction to Electrodynamics and Quantum Mechanics (3 credits)


We admit students for our M.Sc. course through the JAM system. Our 2-year M.Sc. degree program has a curriculum of total 74 credits. In the M.Sc. curriculum, we have a balanced distribution of credits among the theory (both core and elective) and laboratory courses. The curriculum also has project components in the last two semesters, and a seminar course in the 3rd semester. Currently we offer about 8 elective courses on different subjects. Our M.Sc. curriculum can be found here.


We have a 5-year Ph.D. program where students work directly with different faculty members to obtain their degrees. Students are either supported by the institute scholarship (HTRA) or they bring their own external grants (from, say, CSIR-UGC). The admission is based on a rigorous selection process. In the first year of this program, students are required to do at least 12-credit coursework. To fulfil the credit requirement, the enrolled students can take appropriate courses from the list of PG courses. The Ph.D. students also have the option to take the following two dedicated courses designed exclusively for them.

  • Foundations of Theoretical Physics (4 credits)
  • Foundation of Experimental Physics (4 credits)
Copyright ©2021 Department of Physics - IIT Tirupati. All Rights Reserved